Inside Boonshoft newsletter masthead

  July 12, 2013

Volume 2, Issue 1 

Alan Marco named associate dean and president and CEO of Wright State Physicians

Alan MarcoAlan P. Marco, M.D., M.M.M., FACPE, has been appointed associate dean for faculty and clinical affairs and president and CEO of Wright State Physicians, effective Sept. 9.

Dr. Marco comes to Wright State from the University of Toledo College of Medicine and Life Sciences, where he served as professor and chair of the Department of Anesthesiology and the program director for the residency training program in anesthesiology.

A graduate of the Johns Hopkins University, he received his medical training at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and his training in anesthesiology at the Johns Hopkins Hospital. He earned a Master of Medical Management degree from Carnegie Mellon University in 2000.

Read more »

Wright State researcher discovers mechanism to slow tumor growth and metastasis in breast cancer

Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine professor Julian Gomez-Cambronero, Ph.D., and his research team have discovered a key protein that plays a critical role in the development of breast cancer tumors and the spread of the disease to the nearby lungs.

Cambronero’s findings, published this month in the leading cancer journal Oncogene (click here for the report), attribute the cancer’s growth to a protein called Phospholipase D (PLD). Cambronero and his team found that by introducing two new chemical inhibitors of PLD they could shrink tumor growth and reduce subsequent metastasis by around 70 percent.

Read more »

Graduating student and former teacher overcomes cancer, applies lessons learned to caring for kids

Casey McCluskeyFor Casey McCluskey, the path to obtaining her medical degree has been a circuitous journey.

After graduating from the University of Notre Dame in 2001 with a bachelor’s degree in English and film, television and theater, she earned a master’s degree in education while teaching through a two-year postgraduate service program. She was placed in an under-resourced elementary school in Mississippi. “It was probably the hardest thing I’ve ever done,” she said. “I learned a lot of life lessons with 25 kids relying on me.”

Read more »

AAFP recognizes WSU Boonshoft School of Medicine with a Top Ten Award for working to meet the nation’s need for family physicians

AAFP Award CeremonyThe American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) honored the Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine with a Top Ten Award for its consistent commitment to meeting the nation’s need for family physicians.

During the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine spring conference, the AAFP annually recognizes schools that graduated the greatest percentage of students who chose first-year family medicine residency positions during a consecutive three-year period. Known as the Top Ten Awards, this year’s recognition was expanded to 12 schools to accommodate the growth in the number of geographically separated medical school campuses. There are 141 allopathic medical schools in the United States.

Read more »

Boonshoft School of Medicine student selected president-elect of Student National Medical Association

Topaz SampsonTopaz Sampson, a second-year medical student at the Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine, has been selected the 2013-2014 president-elect of the Student National Medical Association (SNMA), the oldest and largest student-run organization focused on the needs and concerns of medical students of color.

The nonprofit organization, which includes more than 6,000 medical students, premedical students, residents and physicians, is committed to supporting current and future underrepresented minority medical students, addressing the needs of underserved communities and increasing the number of clinically excellent, culturally competent and socially conscious physicians.

Read more »

Medical studentsFulbright Award supports Boonshoft School of Medicine student’s research on autism

Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine student T.J. Klein has been selected for a Fulbright U.S. Student Award for 2013-2014 to study autism in Oman.

The Fulbright U.S. Student Program is the largest U.S. exchange program offering opportunities for students and young professionals to undertake international graduate study, advanced research, university teaching and primary and secondary school teaching worldwide. The program awards about 1,900 grants annually in all fields of study and operates in more than 140 countries.

Read more »