Operating room surgery

James B. Peoples, M.D., Surgical Society

The James B. Peoples, M.D., Surgical Society is an interest group for students in the School of Medicine who are interested in learning more about and pursuing a career in surgery. We have one event per month and encourage those interested in learning more about surgery to attend. Past events include panel discussions of practicing general and specialty surgeons, gown and glove sessions, and a suture lab. There are no dues or attendance requirements, just show up to the meetings when you are free. If you have questions, would like to learn more about the club, or would like to become an officer, please contact us.


Mission Statement

To provide current medical students with information regarding a variety of surgical specialty careers through the coordination of presentations by surgeons who are working in those fields.


Goals

  • Promote interest in surgery at the Boonshoft School of Medicine.
  • Increase knowledge of general surgery and surgical subspecialties through panels, shadowing, and training simulations.
  • Prepare medical students for their surgical clerkship and a career in surgery.

News


Activities

Introduction to Surgical Research

Presenter: Priti Parikh, Ph.D., assistant professor and research director, Department of Surgery

2014 Suture Lab at Miami Valley Hospital, April 14, 2014

Conferences and Symposiums

Emerging Issues and Controversies in Vascular Surgery

A one-day symposium on various topics in vascular surgery for primary care physicians, surgeons, vascular specialists, podiatrists, nursing, and other allied medical professionals and trainees in the greater Dayton area, sponsored by the Boonshoft School of Medicine Department of General Surgery Symposium, on Sept. 27, 2013.

Presentations
Clinical Congress, American College of Surgeons Annual Meeting

October 26–30, 2014
Moscone Center, San Francisco


Links


Officers

Paul Rutkowski: rutkowski.6@wright.edu
Alison Bales: bales.10@wright.edu
Colleen Caldwell: caldwell.89@wright.edu
David Swanson: swanson.32@wright.edu
Laura Wolgamott: wolgamott.2@wright.edu

Faculty Advisors

Dr. William Rundell: wkrundell@premierhealth.com
Dr. Linda Barney: LMBarney@premierhealth.com


Ask a Surgeon

Get an inside perspective on what it is like to be a faculty surgeon at Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine.