About Wright State and the Dayton Area

During four or more years of medical school, you will likely work harder, learn more and make greater progress toward realizing your personal and professional goals than ever before. Many of the people and places you will encounter on this remarkable journey are likely to live vividly in your memory for a lifetime.

A Carnegie-classified research university, Wright State University has been changing lives for more than 45 years. The university's state-of-the-art facilities are located in a beautiful 557-acre wooded setting 12 miles northeast of downtown Dayton, Ohio, near the historic landmarks where the Wright brothers taught the world to fly. Wright State serves nearly 18,000 students and offers more than 190 undergraduate, graduate, doctoral and professional degree programs through eight colleges and three schools, including Professional Psychology and the Boonshoft School of Medicine.

Want a glimpse of the future? Watch the videos or visit the links below to learn more about the university and city that could become your new home away from home.

Learn more about…

Eight Great Reasons for Choosing Wright State

Whether you’re ready to apply to medical school or just beginning to explore your options, we’re excited that you’ve found the Boonshoft School of Medicine. This page will lead you quickly to the information and answers you need while giving you a sense of what makes our school — from our exceptional students and faculty to our innovative programs and state-of-the-art facilities — special.

community-based support curriculum facilities research service residency location